Hey guys.. How are you all? I hope everyone is enjoying rainy season. I reached my half century in my last post. Thank you everyone for all the support. 

In this post I am going to write on a topic on which I never wrote about. I’ll be reviewing a book and a TV series. 

Whenever a beloved book get turned into a movie or TV show, the faithful immediately dissect the new adaption to see what got changed. Usually a time constrained movie or a TV show cut out a lot of details but the opposite is true with Netflix’s take on the Jay Asher book 13 Reasons Why.

Overview : 13 Reasons Why tells the story of a young high school student named Clay Jensen who discovers a box of seven cassette tapes on his doorstep one day. The tapes turn out to be a recorded suicide confession from his crush and friend Hannah Baker who killed herself two weeks before the series begin. They outline how the various people in her life played an influence on her decision to take her life – the 13 reasons why she did it. 

Differences –

  • Time taken by Clay to listen to the tapes –  In the book Clay listens to all the tapes in one long, coffee fueled night, but in the show he goes much more slowly. 1 episode is dedicated to 1 side of a tape. 
  • Social Media – The book came in 2007 when Facebook was not famous. Instagram wasn’t even there. But in the show the rumors spread via text message, social media. 
  • Bond of Hannah and Clay – In the book it seems that Clay liked Hannah and it is a one sided thing. But in the series both of them have a lot of interaction and both seemed to like each other but could never confess to each other. 
  • Monet’s Group –  The trio in the show says FML instead of Olly Olly Oxen Free.
  • Lawsuit – The series introduced Baker’s filing a lawsuit against the school, blaming it for failing to spot their troubled daughter. This element of the story was not present in the book 
  • Ending – In the book it is stated that Hanah takes unspecified pills but on the show she sits her wrists in the bathtub. You also see the scene play out in a very graphic and harrowing way in the final episode.
  • Additional tape – In the book Clay passes the tape on to the next person on the list as instructed but in the series Clay skips number 12- Hannah’s rapist. Instead he secretly records a confession and adds to the box before sending it to the last person on the list- school’s counselor. 

    There are many more differences but I can’t share all of them here. But I loved  both of them. Both of them were awesome. 

    The best thing I found about the book and show is that Hannah used cassettes to record the reasons for her suicide. On this age of modern technology, cassettes are long gone. Seeing them once again was nice. 

    This is the first TV show after which I had a  crush on someone from show. Katherine Langford. She played the role of Hannah perfectly. I just loved her acting. 

    This was my first review on a book and a TV series. I hope you all liked it. Do comment what do you think about it.

    58 thoughts on “It’s Review Time… 

    1. Interesting! I didn’t read the book, but I did watch the show. In a two or three day session. I was hooked. Parts of that show were shot in my city… I thought that was cool, too. 🙂 Great post, thanks for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Great review, Mehul! I had read the book a while ago but I am not sure I want to watch the series yet. No doubt I absolutely LOVED the book, but it was too damn dark and depressing. I had a hard time getting over it. Well…after reading the review, I kinda want to watch it. Thanks for sharing, Mehul. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s so true. Book is dark but TV show is a step ahead. It’s a bit more dark than the book. The suicide scene is just too damn dark. In the book she took pills but in TV show she slit her wrists. But it had to be dark as that’s what the theme is. Bullying and depression amongst teens… I am glad you liked the review. Thank you very much.. 😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

    3. Neither have I read the book nor have I watched the show but I think I should watch it, it sounds interesting… Can’t say anything about reading though..Thanks for the review buddy!!! 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

    4. Very nice! Havent read the book but just finished watching season 1 and I loved it! And yes everyone’s acting was so natural especially Hannah. A very serious topics but really well directed. Glad we have the same opinions about the tv show. Can’t wait for season 2 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s nice. Season 1 was awesome. I just loved the way all of the cast acted. Direction was good too. Story was sad but it depicted truth about today’s society.. I too can’t wait for second season..

        Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s great. I too got hooked on to the show. I finished it in 2 days. I am eagerly waiting for the second season. Book is also nice. Little different from the show. Book isn’t as dark as its TV adaption.. But still you must read it☺️☺️😊

        Liked by 1 person

    5. I finished watching this maybe 6 weeks ago by chance because everyone had raved about it and I just wanted to watch something new. I immediately got hooked. So happy that they’ll be making a season 2!! I have so many questions still.

      I have to say – I cried a bit in the last episode or two, because it was so graphic and heavy and sad. Like wow. I like how they added the lawsuit element, feel like it’s very relatable and ties in both the school and the parents into the story more.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yup I too cried a little in last two episodes. It was so sad. The pain was visible. It’s good they made some changes. I am eagerly waiting for the second season. I read the book and watched the show and I must say that it’s the first time I liked TV adaption more.

        Liked by 1 person

    Leave a Reply

    