LIVE LIKE YOU ARE GOING TO DIE!!

This week we are going to talk about a topic which many people don’t like to talk about ‘DEATH’. We being humans are too afraid of death. The reality of death is, of course, both obvious and daunting for most of us.

One day while I was reading a novel a thought wandered my mind. I wondered what’s it’s like to know you’re going to die?”  Then I thought, “Wait a minute, we’re all going to die – we just don’t act like it.

While surfing Internet I came across a speech delivered by Steve Jobs in 2005 at Stanford entitled ‘How to live before you die’.In that speech, he said, “Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart”. 

Being born in a country like India where every Friday a dozen of movies are released, I too am fan of our film industry ‘Bollywood’. There are many movies which are based on deaths. But my favorite among them is a movie titled ‘Anand’. My all time favorite dialouge from the movie is ‘Babumushoi, zindagi badi honi chahiye … lambi nahin’. This movie touched my heart in a way that none other could. 

One other movie that took the fear of death away from me is Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara. ‘Sieze the day my friend … pehle is din ko poori tarah jiyo, phir chalis ke bare mein sochna’. After this dialouge I started thinking of present only. Why worry about future when you don’t know what’s going to happen.

What truly matters to you?  Love? Family? Relationships? Service? Creativity? Spirituality? If you found out you only had a limited time left to live, what would you stop doing right now?  What would you want to focus on instead?  And while we all have certain responsibilities in life, asking ourselves what truly matters to us and challenging ourselves to focus on that, right now, is one of the most important things we can do.

Imagine yourself in your 90’s sitting on a rocking chair. What you advice to your younger(present) self. When you will look back you will not regret the things you did but the things you had chance to do but you did not. 

I personally want to collect memories in life. I know when I will be old I’ll not remember the money I earned but all the craziness I have done in life. I’ll not remember the classes I have attended or the marks I got but the bunks I have created and enjoyed with my friends. 

If you don’t do any crazy things in your childhood you will not have any stories to tell your kids when you will be older. Memories has a great power which can make even the strongest person week. 

I recently read on Facebook a great small story. It is as follows’ Once a billionaire watching outside the window, children were playing soccer. A lot of memories flashed back. After few hours a billionaire came home drenched screaming that his team won’.

 And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years. So live everyday as if it were your last because someday you’re going to be right. Don’t worry what others say about you. It’s your life so make the most of it because you are never going to get this moment again. 

7 thoughts on “LIVE LIKE YOU ARE GOING TO DIE!!

  1. I have been raised up with this ‘ babumushai zindagi lambi ni bdi honi chahiye’ indeed it’s true ! The future starts today not tomorrow .
    You nailed it this time..
    Beginning to end its perfect !!
    God bless you !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

